From Florida with Love

9 May

My coworker Amanda goes home to Wisconsin and brings back cheese curds. My college pal Adam from Texas makes sure to chow down on Spring Creek BBQ dinner rolls when he visits home. My friend Rosie’s southern grandma  has sent her homemade southern style fudge, banana bread and Chex mix for the past 20 years or more (with local walnuts she would shell every year!). Who doesn’t love a care package from family?

Yes, this Sunday was Mother’s Day, but as anyone with a wayward Jewish mother can attest to, it seemed only appropriate that my mom was sending me a box full of goodies. So what’s in a care package from Florida? Alligator jerky and sunscreen. It is uniquely…regional. (Oranges are so played out.)

"Would it kill you to call your mother," he seemed to say. Photo:wwarby

To be fair, other care packages have included standards such as chocolate chip cookies.

Now that our first heat wave has come (and gone), I was extra glad to have the reef-safe sunscreen. And now that I’ve been bombarded on Facebook with notifications for my high school reunion I was glad the package didn’t include buttery baked goods.

My most recent indulgences have not been worth the calories (leftover Easter candy someone keeps slyly dropping off in the office) and I should probably be making  less-frequent trips for sopes at Loteria Grill, so I was delighted to open up the recent Audubon magazine and find that their blog, The Perch, features  some great, eco-friendly recipes. Sweet potato and quinoa salad from Mark Bittman? Yes, please.

Leave a Reply

