Bananarama

25 May

Pearl Jam knows a good recipe when they see it.

Did I pique your plantain-related interest with my most previous post? Are you lamenting the possible doom of your beloved Chunky Monkey? Perhaps you have been staring forlornly at that bunch of overripe (possibly organic?) bananas languishing in your kitchen.

In that case, give yourself a purpose. I offer up to you the best no-fail banana bread recipe I have ever come across. Incidentally, it found its way to me from “Deep,” Pearl Jam’s fan club magazine but it is originally from “The Grange Cookbook” and was written by Mildred Lund.

Wherever you are, Mildred, rock on.

Oh, you were out last week? Well alright, here’s what we talked about:

“But I would also like to be assured that the people involved in harvesting my banana got fair working conditions. I have other concerns about my banana, actually. Bananas are now grown as a monoculture crop, though there are (or were) many varieties of banana. The natural biodiversity of bananas help shield it from fungus and disease. Now completely lacking this biodiversity, bananas as we know them could in fact be wiped out. Starbucks claims to be protecting this biodiversity with their coffee, why not also with their fruit? How do I find out if pesticides or poisons that are banned in the US are used on my foreign banana? As I stared at my nearly-a-dollar banana, I began to think that even a price that high came nowhere close to the actual cost of the fruit, all things considered.”

And now I give you:

Banana Bread

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed fine
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Beat egg in a bowl; add sugar and butter and cream mixture together

Add mashed bananas and vanilla and mix

Sift flour, baking soda and salt; add to banana mixture, stir to blend well

Pour into 6×10 in loaf pan and bake at 325-350 degrees for 45-50 minutes

Leave a Reply

