Let Me Eat Cake

14 Apr

I’ve always had a sweet tooth. OK, sorry, that’s an understatement. I could eat maple syrup on, well, on nothing, just by itself. And I feel chocolate has a place at any meal. That’s right breakfast, I’m looking at you.

Hands off, kid. This has my name on it.

This is a good place to live when you are open to eclectic tastes and new flavors. A single average mini-mall here can provide you with papusas, lo mien, tamales, gefilte fish and probably some overpriced coffee too.  Just think of the possibilities for dessert that I have yet to discover.  When I asked friends to weigh in on their favorite bakery in L.A. I got a cake-load of responses, and even some heated arguments over whose auntie makes the best cakes (I’m undecided).  So I’m embarking on a new adventure to sample bakeries all over town. (Or your aunt’s, cousin’s or nanna’s baking, if that’s alright with you.)

This sounds much more enjoyable (and more fattening) than my last experiment — a month of veganism. Because you all seem to have strong opinions about your desserts, feel free to send me recommendations if you feel I am leaving out your favorite hidden gem but keep in mind, there’s only so much sugar and butter I can inhale. Oh who am I kidding? Bring on the cake!

PS-Also feel free to donate your personal trainer to help me recover from frosting overload.

3 Responses to “Let Me Eat Cake”

  1. Ellen G April 18, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Unfortunately, City Bakery @ Brentwood Country Mart has closed. We miss the cookies & french toast

  2. Mom April 15, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    I bought that cake in the picture, but I’d be delighted to bake and send an item for consideration

  3. Michelle B April 15, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Check out the City Bakery at the Brentwood Country Mart on 26th. Tell Morty Hi for me!

Leave a Reply

