A Minor Indiscretion

25 Feb

Who doesn't need a little junk food fix once in a while after a rough day at the office?

What do you do when you have a bad day?

Have a drink with some friends? Snuggle up with your significant other? Watch a funny movie?
Well, here’s what I did: I cheated. I ate chocolate. Not just any chocolate, a Cadbury Egg (alright more than one). Now, I know what you’re thinking. “That’s disgusting.”

I should be embarrassed to say it, but Cadbury Eggs are my favorite packaged sweets and they only come around once a year, or else I would stash them away in my cubicle like a little squirrel. I thought I would sit down, delicately unwrap the foil and savor my secret lapse in judgment, making that token orgasmic chocolate face often seen in Dove commercials. I thought I would feel instantly better.

I was really disappointed.

For some reason, my junk food of choice suddenly didn’t taste half as good as I had built it up to taste. Maybe all I wanted was a good wholesome meal instead. Chew on that.

This got me thinking. I’d spent the last two and a half weeks wishing I could just have a piece of milk chocolate. If you have a sweet tooth, how do you full-time vegans do it? Some of you have confessed to me that you still sneak chocolate. Some of you have even mentioned that if you are left in the dark about the ingredients, you’d even consider donuts fair game. But what if you were (unlike me) really trying to play it completely straight and grab a decadent vegan dessert? Be honest, do they exist?

Have any of you tried a decent vegan bakery in Los Angeles that you would recommend? I consulted a friend who loves to bake. She once made a batch of cupcakes using three sticks of butter (un-frosted). But, she also has a close vegan friend. For her friend’s birthday she made some amazing vegan chocolate cookies. The recipe is below. I’m unsure of the precise author, but it was posted on Alicia Silverstone’s website, The Kind Life, at some point. (I won’t pretend that the ingredients are inexpensive, or stuff you might just have lying around, but if you like gooey chocolate things these are worth the expense and effort.)

INGREDIENTS
2 1/2 cups of unbleached flour
1/3 cup of unsweetened vegan cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup of vegan margarine
1 1/2 cups of coconut palm sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened plain soy milk
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 tsps pure peppermint extract

Glaze:

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup vegan cocoa
1/4 cup water
1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/8 tsp salt
2 tsp of vanilla
1 tsp peppermint extract

• Preheat the oven to 350.
• Whisk the dry ingredients together in a small mixing bowl.
• Blend the wet ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
• Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture to form the cookie dough.
• Make 2 inch balls and bake them on an un-greased cookie sheet for 7-9 minutes.
• Let them cool on a wire rack while you prepare the glaze.
• To make the glaze, combine the maple syrup, vinegar, salt, cocoa and water in small saucepan.
• Bring to a bubble over medium heat.
• Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla and peppermint extract.
• Drizzle over the cooled cookies while it’s still warm.
• Quickly sprinkle them with vegan crushed peppermints.
• Allow the cookies to sit for 5 – 10 minutes until the frosting solidifies.

2 Responses to “A Minor Indiscretion”

  1. Liz March 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    A friend of mine went to school for sustainable food or something and made the most delicious vegan donuts! They were so amazing she is trying to go into business with them! Remind me to send you her info 🙂

  2. Terumi February 25, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Try the organic vegan chocolate cupcakes at Seed in Venice!!! It’s sooooo goooooood! It’s very chocolate-y : ) Also, I made a organic vegan chocolate birthday cake. It was surprisingly yummy. When is you b-day? Maybe I’ll make one for you!

Leave a Reply

