Let’s Catch Up Over Dessert

29 Aug

I'm cold in here.

I know. It’s been a while. And there is so much to talk about.

Last we spoke I was waxing nostalgic about care packages from Mom (easily worthy of several more posts). Since that time, a movement to legalize urban bee-keeping in L.A. has caught traction, Jonathan Gold has come out in defense of sharks and one enterprising South L.A. resident got to keep his urban garden going.

That, and I moved.

I’ve left the City of Angels and am now roaming the East Bay. I know, it’s a big change, I’m going to have to modify my subtitle and everything.

While Chewgooder has been nothing if not L.A.-centric, I’m determined to keep it going in a new foodshed. (I promise you’ll still find interesting information, Angelinos.)

In any case, moving is tough. And I’ve been drowning my sorrows in a pint (OK, pints) of Phish Food. It was my only comfort, that is until I got a nod from some fans. It seems that Vermont’s finest have a thing for me too, as evidenced by the above photo. The new “Brownie Chew Gooder” flavor from Ben and Jerry’s seems to be borrowing from ahem…a certain California food blogger.

Well Boys, the feeling is mutual. My love of baked goods and candy stuffed into ice cream aside, I’m a sucker for a brand with a sense of humor and a compelling mission. (And bonus points if it also involves chocolate.) Ben and Jerry’s is against genetically modified fish and growth hormones in dairy, and is in support of cage-free eggs and fair trade ingredients.  Waste from Ben and Jerry’s plants is starting to go to methane biodigesters. More large food companies would benefit from a more innovative (and slightly irreverent) business model. No one can argue the success of Ben and Jerry’s. Chubby Hubby is part of the lexicon.  I’m not saying that making your own ice cream isn’t a tasty–though expensive–endeavor, but I am saying that I shelve my strong aversion to the ‘better eating through science’ mantra when someone has figured out how to put my favorite breakfast pastry (cinnamon buns) inside my favorite midnight snack.

So folks, as you can see, Chewgooder is still around. In a big way.

Raise your pint.

2 Responses to “Let’s Catch Up Over Dessert”

  1. nhb August 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    Good to see Chewgooder back in action! Can’t believe Ben & Jerry’s stole your name though…I thought they were the good guys.

    • chewgooder August 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      I should be getting royalties, no?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

