The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

5 Apr

It’s that time of year again. No, not the beginning of warm weather and swim suit season, Girl Scout Cookie season. Damn them for coinciding.

I've got your guilt-trip right here.

Why do I bring this up? Because I’m spending the week on a beach in Florida. And I spent the last three in my office eating Samoas and Thin Mints.

I was a Brownie myself once, up until the third grade. I learned many valuable life skills, like how to apply mascara (yes, really). After one weekend in the Florida wilderness at sleepaway camp getting eaten alive by mosquitos and reading Disney magazines, I decided scouting just wasn’t for me. Thus, I never received my Peddling Shortbread Cookies Outside of Best Buy for Hours Badge.

Here’s an idea of what I think I should’ve learned as a Brownie. Your family and friends are important people, thus spending quality time with them is also important. Taking care of yourself is important: be active, have fun and leave the mascara off for a few more years, eh?

Call me crazy, but standing outside Vons selling Tagalongs doesn’t really accomplish any of these things. Neither does convincing your parents to take the cookie forms to the office. My parents were never game… I do of course realize that sales from Girl Scout Cookies benefit Girl Scout programs and I do of course realize that the cookies are really (really really) good. But do they really need to come double wrapped in plastic and with ingredients like partially hydrogenated oil or corn syrup solids?

I’m simply going to offer an alternative. Spend a day actually baking with your daughter. Some of my best memories from childhood involve baking with my mom. One of my not-so-favorite memories? Having to go door-to-door in my neighborhood selling cookies for something like four dollars a box in that atrocious brown uniform.

Here is a link to a recipe for homemade Girl Scout Cookies from CHOW called “Slim Mints.” (Take that, Thin Mints.) You should know though, that the word “slim” in the title is just meant to be a clever dig and in no way implies that the cookie is in fact slimming. You can’t have it all.

They’re good, scout’s honor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

